College…it’s what I do.

The summer before I went off to college was the scariest summer of my life. Everyone kept telling me how great it was that I was going to be going off to college, and how I will do so wonderful in college…all the while thoughts of failure and doubt over crept my mind. Me? In college?

My mom never let a moment pass to tell me how proud she was. Proud that I was a first generation student. And proud I was going to go far in life, or so she hoped. I had a desire to become a doctor, er I mean she had a desire for me to become a doctor. As many times she told me how proud she was, she also never let me forget that a doctor is a good field to get into. Anything less than that might be considered a monstrosity, because after all, I have a passion for children…but I also have a passion for animals, reading, and writing.

With high hopes I took Biology…and failed. But it’s ok. Right? So I took it again. Needless to say, I didn’t pass the second time either. So I decided to focus on English, the one class I could say I enjoyed my Freshman year of college.

I’ve recently finished my third year at my university. And an 18 credit semester broken up into 6 classes. It’s probably been one of the busiest semesters I’ve ever had. Four of my classes were writing emphasis courses. So that was basically like a thousand essays. Ok…not that many, but it seems like every class scheduled their essay due dates at the same time. Ha, but that’s college life for ya!

In my three years here at college I’ve learned a few things. One, don’t be afraid to talk to people. This is how one meets and befriends people. This is how to make a college life not so lonely and depressing. And you’ll never know what you might learn about a different culture. Which is extremely rewarding.

The second thing I’ve learned is that although living alone might seem like a dream, it’s really not that spectacular. Having a roommate means having someone who will always be there. Someone to have dinner plans with. Someone who teaches you a little more about yourself. Because you have to learn how to live with someone, other than family members who’ve been with you since you were a baby. It’s about making certain sacrifices like watching new TV shows, learning how to share a bathroom, and overall being being considerate.

A third thing is to never underestimate what a small smile or compliment can do to someone’s day. Every day I would walk past this lady who runs one of the food stands, and she never failed to say, “Good morning,” or “Have a wonderful day,” and every day I looked forward to seeing her. I often times tried to smile to people, especially if I knew them, because it always made my day when someone waved to me.

Number four, it’s a-ok to fail at times. Whether this is classes, or a date, it’s all going to work out in the end. Like I’ve mentioned my fall out of Biology…I also did horrid in Chemistry II. But it’s ok. For one I learned how I worked and what I enjoyed doing. I’ve lost a few friends since Freshman yearthat’s okay too. Like I said, everything turns out for the best in the end.

Smile. Wave. Don’t show fear. Stay strong. Cry to let the emotions run out. Breathe. Be happy. Take time for yourself.

Author: Angellus1325

I'm a little weird. I'm sad I didn't get to take advantage of being a kid in the 90's. But I'm a big believer in Jesus.

2 thoughts on “College…it’s what I do.”

  1. Wow! This post is actually very inspiring to me because I agree with a lot of the tips that you have mentioned here. I’ve also just graduated from college (this month) and have studied far away from home, which is why I think that it would really be beneficial for us students to perhaps try out some of these useful tips! I can’t agree with you more that the students who have just started living away from their parents have to somehow search for that passion to take on the responsibilities(as simple as how they will interact with others), at the same time, balance their mood.

    Great, honest post!

    -Peter

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Peter! Studying away from home is hard, especially the greater the distance between home and college. I still struggle with this, and I only live a few hours from home. Good luck blogging, I can’t wait to read about your adventures and thoughts 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

