Running like a Winner

Have you ever felt like Forest Gump and just wanted to run forever, and ever. Run from the East coast to the West. Run away from your problems, and leave them in the dust. Have you ever ran so hard and for so long that it was difficult to actually want to stop. And when you finally did, your legs still had an urge to just keep running. Running, sometimes, has a way of making one feel free.

Earlier this evening, I took “My Boys,” as I refer to them, for a run through our back fields today. Mind you, this is my second attempt at running since I’ve gotten home, so I didn’t run the entire 1.08 miles. I probably only ran half of that. But I’m okay with that.

If I keep attempting to run the 1.08 miles, almost everyday, eventually I’ll be able to say I can run the entire length. Without heavy breathing, or pain. If I keep running, I’ll eventually improve my timing. Instead of it taking me 25 minutes, maybe it will take me 10. If I keep running with a victory in mind, I will eventually be victorious!

As I neared the end of my run, I realized a few things. For one, it’s so much easier to run with one dog, not two. My German Shepard doesn’t realize that he is significantly in better shape than I am, even at eleven years old, he still runs like he’s young. My other dog, usually stays close to me when it’s just me and him on the trail. And he always listens to me when I call his name.

Two, running in an uneven terrain where the grass is as tall as my knees is much more difficult than I thought it would be. I have to constantly keep myself from tripping. The hills also have it out for me. probably 1/4 of my run consisted of running uphill, let me tell you, pushing myself to actually run uphill is very difficult. I almost have no motivation.

A third thing I’ve learned is that by the time I made it to three-quarters of a mile, I was so ready to just never run again. My legs ached; I could feel them tremble. My face burned; I could feel the redness overflow into my cheeks. “I’ll walk the rest of the way home. Who wants to run anyways.” But that was when I thought it would be best to run non-stop until I got home. Granted, I made it about halfway, but hey I had to try, right? I think my dogs were okay with me walking as well. It seemed like they both yearned to just drink some water, and rest their little paws.

Like my run this evening, my relationship with God should be like this. I should be running after him, without stopping…without hesitation….with gladness…with hope…it’s okay to be a little tired, because I know He will restore me, and make me new. He’s like the second wind I get, to cross that finish line. I’ve got the shoes to run like a winner, because I am a winner.

DSCF4629
My Boys: Buddy (L) and Chief (R)
Author: Angellus1325

I'm a little weird. I'm sad I didn't get to take advantage of being a kid in the 90's. But I'm a big believer in Jesus.

Leave a Reply

