Fast, Pray, Receive.

In approximately a day I will be leaving my home state and going on a journey. A journey southward. There in the awesome state of Oklahoma, I, along with thousands of other youth kids and young adults, will be attending NAYC, North American Youth Congress.

I have been praying for this event, that not only I receive what I need, but others receive a little slice of healing and strength as well. I dedicated Thursday as my fasting day this past week. Fasting is about giving up something that we don’t necessarily want to give up. Food. Media. Phones. Internet. Facebook. I chose to give up Facebook, and 2 meals. Thursday was my choice day because, it was my one day off this week. When I’m at work, I don’t receive a break. I usually don’t eat throughout my shift. Maybe a breadstick now and then. And my phone is on airplane mode until I walk out the door and to my car. So am I really giving up something? Um…no…so I fasted on my day off. Because it was truly a sacrifice.

I have a few goals in mind while I am attending this amazing church event. One, bring my relationship one step closer to God. Ultimately I just want to serve Him, because He has never let me down. In my darkest and most troubled moments, He held onto me. And He still has yet to let me go.

My second goal is to be able to pray with another person. Whether that person has been coming to every NAYC since he/she possibly could, or whether it’s that person’s first ever conference. It will be only my second time going to one of these biennial events.

A third goal in mind is to spend as little as possible while having the most amount of fun. I have been trying very hard to save enough money for this trip, and my other trip I will be going on in a couple of weeks. Everything has a price to it, and unfortunately my finances are very tight. Gotta love being a poor college student…not!

As I journey southward, I hope that God keeps his hand on our vehicles, and that our journey is truly a blessed one full of laughter and smiles.

Author: Angellus1325

I'm a little weird. I'm sad I didn't get to take advantage of being a kid in the 90's. But I'm a big believer in Jesus.

Leave a Reply

