Are Bright Colors a Thing Anymore?

Pop culture is not about depth.

It’s about marketing, supply and demand, [and] consumerism.       
—Trevor Dunn

Forty years ago, when my mother had nine years notched into her belt, bright and vibrant colors were the biggest fad that had hit the pop culture. That and bean bag chairs. Today, one cannot easily tell if it’s better to be fat or skinny, or to be a nerd or a cool cat. If a lady is not a lover of Taylor Swift, and her constant repeat of the same song different lyrics, then one is probably into the whole Miley Cyrus and her “punk” look. When it comes to pop culture, my thoughts do not differ from Trevor Dunn’s opinion; pop culture is a fake way to secretly swoon everyone onto the same path, even though we’re all meant to be different.

I do enjoy sitting down and watching a good episode of Sherlock or Supernatural, but I cannot say I’m so obsessed with it. I’m far from following the “Superwholock” fandom, because it would be silly to spend so much time and energy, and especially money on materialistic things that are supposed to “originate” me. Plus, these things don’t really do anything in particular for me; all that these products do is taking money out of my wallet and sticking it in the company’s. If I spent $22 on a tee shirt with Benedict Cumberbatch’s face on it, what am I proving? I could take that $22, go to Walmart, and buy maybe a few shirts, or a shirt and some food (after all, I’m in college, and I need food).

Pop culture is far from important to me because I am my own person. I am me. I don’t follow “the norm.” I enjoy watching old TV shows that are in black and white. Culture today yearns for thrillers—the more blood the merrier. I wear skirts almost all of the time, which makes me like a woman before the roaring 20’s and the term “flapper” came about. If Beethoven, Mozart, Bach, or Chopin were alive today I would probably be their number one “fangirl.” Today, if one isn’t wearing the hottest trends, downloading the latest app, or even banging as many people as possible then he or she is most likely considered a prude, or technologically illiterate.

Today we have the phrase burned in our head “Be you. Be different.” Yet, when a fish strives to be that purple hue in a tank of yellow fish, that fish is bullied until it lives its life in the shadows of a fake, hollow rock. In a world full of people defining what is hot or not, we get eyed suspiciously for dressing or looking different. The world orders us to be different, but being different is frowned upon.

I haven’t gone to a beauty salon in about 5 years, not even for a simple “trim.” My hair, which is now past my booty, is almost always in a bun. When I do let it down I get so many comments or questions on it. “How long has it been since you cut it? Why don’t you cut it? Wait…you don’t even get it trimmed? For real? Your hair is probably unhealthy. You DON’T have split ends?! How?!”

Akil Thompson once said, “Today teenagers are more worried about losing their smart phone than their virginity.” So true. Ever see someone freak out because he/she thought that their phone was lost? Ever see someone freak out because he/she lost their virginity? No…they’re most likely bragging about it, or proud of it. I’m proud to say at almost 22 years old, I’m a virgin. Still. After enduring all the temptations that high school, and college both have thrown at me. Even though I spent half of my college life in a committed relationship, the world screams, “If you aren’t having sex in your relationship you’re pathetic.” It was something that my boyfriend at the time and I talked about a lot. That trying to stay pure until marriage is so hard.

Stay strong. Be different. Don’t let the world push you down because you’ve decided to stray from the majority.

Author: Angellus1325

I'm a little weird. I'm sad I didn't get to take advantage of being a kid in the 90's. But I'm a big believer in Jesus.

Leave a Reply

