Brother Special

bub2
Bub: few months-ish, Me: 4 or 5 years old

Once upon a time, when I was around five and six, I often times would take care of my brother. I changed his diaper. I usually dressed him if he needed to be. Thankfully I never had to feed him (eww to burping a baby). So my brother and I developed our own form of communication     oh yes, whatever he said I understood clear as day, while my mom or any other adult would turn to me after he said something, “What did he just say?” Then I had to translate. See, my brother, who is mentally impaired (mentally handicapped, mentally retarded…whatever you want to call it) had, and still has, a slight speech impediment. His words are…mumbled…that’s the best way to describe it. He was the annoying person who always received more attention from my mom, so I often times envied him, but yet at the same time he was my best friend and it didn’t matter if he was “special.”

As we grew older our relationship always fluctuated. At times we’d do things together as a brother and sister. Other times I’d have to take on more of a parental role, because my mom worked long hours to put food on the table. Then other times I completely despised him because through my eyes, he got all the “good stuff” no rules applied to him, you know things that upset a child. But in the end, we’ve eventually would come together and take on our usual relationship: I pick on you, you pick on me, punch-each-other-in-the-shoulders kind or relationship.

bub1
Bub: about 3 years old

Then when I went off to college, our relationship changed very dramatically. All of a sudden I had no idea what to do without a brother. I had no one to poke fun at. So when I’d come home it was hardcore “meanness.” As I spent less time at home, he started growing up: rapidly. He grew taller than me. His facial hair filled in. His shoulders broadened. He was growing into a man (yes, it does make me sad a little, because that means I’m getting old!).

About a week ago, out of no where I come out of my room dressed very nicely for a job interview. He comes out of his room about the same time to get something to eat. He smiles when he looks at me, “Angel. You look very beautiful.” I’m caught completely off guard, “Why thank you, Bub.” I’ve been called beautiful or pretty by men before, so it’s not like the first time I’ve heard it (shocking, I know!!), but when my brother, who thinks girls are gross, called me beautiful, it was a very vivid moment for me: my brother is growing into such a nice gentleman.

Snapchat--6188996922673124564Then tonight, as him and I took our dogs for a walk to get some exercise in, I told him that we both need to take showers tonight before church prayer tomorrow. His response, “Well ladies go first, so you can have the shower first.” I’m blown away by how sweet he is. My mom and I both have tried to teach him throughout the years how to be a gentleman, like opening doors for folks and always being nice in general, and since I’ve been home for the summer, I’ve realized how much he’s grown up in the last 4 years that I’ve been away at college. I’m so proud of him.

I had someone ask me why I believed in a God when my brother turned out the way he is. I was thrown off by this person blatantly stating there was no God, and that my brother is proof of it. I didn’t have a good response for that person, and I’m embarrassed to say so. But as I’ve witnessed my brother growing up, I have no doubt that there is a God. See, every child is born for a purpose, so every child born is perfect in the will of God. I’m so blessed to have Bub.

If I didn’t have my brother, I would never have had the chance to learn how to communicate with someone who doesn’t talk like myself. I usually don’t have many issues comprehending accents or speech impediments. Bub taught me to enjoy life at a slower pace. Anyone who knows him, knows he’s slow as molasses on a winter day when he does ANYTHING. Even if he’s told to pick up the pace, he’s still pretty slow. Bub showed me that sticks are great swords, and that dinosaurs are legit. I learned the value of a hug when he hugged me goodbye. Most of all, Bub taught me how to smile at the most trivial things even if I just want to punch a wall    he’s literally the most funny guy I know. God blessed me with a brother that can uplift me when I need it. And even if he is a little mentally impaired, he’s one-of-a-kind-special: brother special.

Author: Angellus1325

I'm a little weird. I'm sad I didn't get to take advantage of being a kid in the 90's. But I'm a big believer in Jesus.

Leave a Reply

