Nothing Good Happens After Midnight

“It’s so stupid,” She takes a long drag on her cigarette. Her brows are furrowed in frustration, yet her eyes are layered with tears ready to course their way across her ageless face. “I don’t understand how I could be so blind. How could I not see this coming?” She looks at me.

I look into her eyes,”Because love is blinding.”
“But were we even in love?”
“Maybe not a deep love, but in one form, I think you did love him.”
“Well I hate love,” she looks down letting her cigarette drop, her foot squishing the last red ash out on the chilly cement. Tears started flowing down her cheeks and her body began shaking, “The worse part is that he called me a dog.”
I take a brief moment before continuing on, “Well, then be a dog.”
She looks at me, confusion written on her face, “What?”
I hesitate, “Be a dog…be loyal to everyone, love unconditionally, and get excited about going outside. Forgive and forget. Wake up each morning with joy in your heart, and chase the ball every once-in-awhile…it’s the little things in life.”
She stops shaking. I wipe her tears away and let my arms embrace her.
“It’s not going to be easy, and it’s going to suck for awhile. I know you though, you’ve overcome a lot. You attempted suicide and survived that. A boy who breaks your heart is not worth the shedding of tears. That just means you are still giving him the time he doesn’t deserve.”
“I know.”

She and I sit in silence for awhile. Her phone buzzes, and she looks at it. It shows she has a new message. I look at mine to check the time. 2:08 a.m.

“It’s from him. He says, ‘I was wrong, I’m sorry. Can we talk?'”
“Ignore it. Nothing good happens after midnight. He’s probably drunk or just wants you for the night. If he meant it, he would have just messaged you in the morning.”
She shuts off her phone, and slides it into her pocket.
“I do need to get going. I need to be up early.”
“Okay, but promise me you won’t respond. He probably doesn’t mean it, and he doesn’t deserve someone like you.”
She lets out a deep sigh, “Don’t worry. I won’t. I promise,” she gives me a large smile.

With that, she turns and walks away, leaving me behind with the campfire that had died down to a glowing ember.
I know she lied to me, just now, but I don’t want to run after her. I’d say something I’d regret or I’d end up causing a ripple in our friendship. After all, nothing good happens after midnight.

Author: Angellus1325

I'm a little weird. I'm sad I didn't get to take advantage of being a kid in the 90's. But I'm a big believer in Jesus.

Leave a Reply

