Dream Beaver

Today, over fifty years later, Martin Luther King Jr’s famous 1963 words can still be belted out, “I have a dream…” One may state them in a fashioned way to go hand-in-hand with something that they may want to see changed, or perhaps they are singing them because they admire the way King passionately spoke.

I, on the other hand, am repeatedly running those words through my head because I’m trying to conjure up some sort of long-term dream of mine, because I’m so unsure of what I want or where I’m going in life. Apparently in today’s society, it’s not okay to be a person who doesn’t know what they want, one has to have some sort of short term and long term goals. The montrosity. In high school I had to know if I wanted to go to college or not after I graduate; I had to know what I wanted to do if I wanted to go to college. At age 15 I had to make these important life decisions for my 18-year-old self.
“I have a dream…to go through college and become a pediatrician!” I said to myself at age 15, “I have a dream…to help children.”
At age 16 I dreamt of being married by 25. “I have a dream to be married by 25 and to have my first child by 27…”
At age 17, I boldly stated, “I have a dream…to go to bible college.”
Eighteen year old me was dreaming of a specific boy, and our future together. “I dream that we will become married once we finish college. I dream he’s going to be my forever.”

At age 20 I lost the dream of becoming a pediatrician, but aspired to become a writer.
At 21, I lost the dream of that boy and my future of being with someone. I dreamt of a lonely life being single.
At 23, my current status, I’m still trying to figure out what my dream is. I don’t know if it’s better to dream of moving up in my company, or moving onto a career geared more towards my degree.
At 23, I cannot boldly proclaim, “I have a dream…” or perhaps I can? What if my inner dream beaver came out.
Dream…beaver? Yes. To dream a dream, and actually put some work ethic into getting it built strong like a dam (beaver pun – ha!).

So I have to start building with a foundation. When beavers begin a dam they aren’t going to start with little sticks. NO! They are going to start with massive logs to make sure it’s strong and founded properly. They build up that dam with more strong logs, patching it up with mud, and as it is nearly completed that’s when they put the fillers in like any little sticks and more mud.

Building my dreams with a foundation starts with prayers, right? Because praying for a given situation not only puts one in the right mindset, it allows God to start putting those stepping stones down. “God I dream of yada-yada-yada…” Spoken words are powerful. A conversation between two cannot done without spoken words. If I were to go to my friend and think “Wow, I truly love your shoes” instead of saying it, they wouldn’t know because they can’t read my mind. Same concept, if I go to God without physically praying, my prayers aren’t going to be as effective.

Once that foundation is started I can start slapping on the mud and more logs. This is the continuation of that foundation. With a continuation in prayer and building up my faith, that foundation creates something whole and strong that can block the flow/influence of the strong tides that will rush towards that foundation to try and break it down. But here’s the thing, that strong dam will withstand those flowing waters as long as I keep like a beaver and continue to work it every day. I don’t know necessarily where God will take me, but if I keep dreaming and building, he’ll keep providing.

I don’t know how this conversation started out with Martin Luther King Jr and ended up being about how I can better myself by being a “dream beaver” but somehow it did. My writing does that at times, because quite often my fingers just have their own mind and type away at the keyboard. Anyways, catch ya’ll on the flip side. #bless

Author: Angellus1325

I'm a little weird. I'm sad I didn't get to take advantage of being a kid in the 90's. But I'm a big believer in Jesus.

Leave a Reply

